B Page -- Dec. 14, 2010

Lambert Budzinski (#12) and Charles Dieuseul (#2) are two of the reasons the Mount Union defense is rated No. 1 in the nation (Photo by J.T. Higgins).

Football -- Stagg Bowl Preview

 Continued from A Page

The Purple Raiders (14-0), won the Ohio Athletic Conference and its automatic bid into the playoffs. After completing its fifth straight undefeated regular season, the No. 2 ranked Purple Raiders are 12-0 overall after beating St. Lawrence, 49-0 in the first round and No. 18 ranked Delaware Valley 31-3 in the second round, Alfred (N.Y.) 37-7 in the quarterfinals and a 34-14 win over No. 14 ranked Bethel (Minn.) in the semifinals.

Wisconsin-Whitewater (14-0) earned an automatic bid by winning the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) title. The Warhawks are making their ninth playoff appearance with a 27-6 record in NCAA post-season play. Whitewater defeated No. 24 Frankin (Ind.) 52-21 in the first round, No. 12 Trine (Ind.) 45-31 in the second round, then went on the road to beat No. 5 North Central (Ill.) 20-10 in the quarterfinals and No. 3 ranked Wesley (Del.) 27-7 in the semifinals.


This will be the seventh meeting between the schools with Mount Union holding a 5-2 edge in the series. The teams have met in each of the last five Stagg Bowls and also played a pair of regular season openers in 2002 and 2003 with Mount Union winning 44-21 in 2002 in Wisconsin and 40-17 in 2003 in Ohio. The Raiders are a combined 8-4 against WIAC teams (5-2 vs. UW-Whitewater, 2-2 vs. UW-LaCrosse and 1-0 vs. UW-Oshkosh).


Larry Kehres (Mount Union '71) is 303-22-3 (.927) in his 25th season as head coach as one of the most successful coaches in college football history as he is one of only 11 coaches in college football history to win at least 300 games. His teams have won 21 OAC Championships, including the last 19 in a row, along with 10 of the last 17 NCAA Division III National Championships. This year he is president of the American Football Coaches Association.

Lance Leipold (UW-Whitewater '87) is 56-3 (.949) has gotten the Warhawks to the title game in each of his four seasons as head coach at his Alma mater. In 2007 he led the Warhawks to a WIAC and National Championship picking up AFCA Division III National Coach of the Year honors. He was a quarterback for the Warhawks and had assistant coaching stints at UW-Whitewater, Wisconsin and Nebraska-Omaha.


For the sixth year the NCAA Division III Football Championship consists of a 32-team field. For perspective, in Mount Union's first appearance in the playoffs in 1985, the field was 16 teams. This year's field breaks down like this: Automatic bids will be given to 23 conference champions, three spots are reserved for teams that are independents or in conferences not granted automatic bids and the final six spots are national at-large bids.


Wisconsin-Whitewater features a high powered offense with multiple weapons and a defense that is stout against the run and keeps opponents out of the end zone ... sound familiar. The Warhawks enter the game with the nation's best 29 game winning streak.

The offense runs through junior running back Levell Coppage has rushed for 1808 yards and 22 touchdowns rushing to earn D3Football.com West Region Offensive Player of the Year honors and WIAC Player of the Year honors. Coppage is joined in the backfield by Antwan Anderson and Booker Stanley who have combined for almost 1,500 yards and 13 TD's. Blocking for these backs is three All-WIAC First Team lineman in Robbie Ustruck, Matt Weber and Mark Gawronski. Senior wide receiver Aaron Rusch will play in his 60th game Saturday and was one of 10 semifinalists for the Gagliardi Trophy has 87 catches for 1,037 yards and 14 TD's while Adam Brandes is the other top target with 60 catches for 1,126 yards and 12 TD's. The question for the Warhawks is under center as starting quarterback Matt Blanchard, who threw for 2,132 yards, 21 TD's and just one interception on his way to All-WIAC First Team honors has been injured and missed the entire playoffs. In his place Lee Brekke has won all four playoff games and has completed 63.7-percent of his passes (58-of-91) for 722 yards, 10 TD's and four interceptions.

The defense is seventh in the nation in total defense (240.71 yards per game) and second against the run (46.71 yards per game). Leading the defense is All-WIAC First Team linebacker Lane Olson has a team-best 81.5 tackles, 5.5 sacks and 4 forced fumbles. Another All-WIAC First Teamer is defensive back Matt McCulloch who has 14 pass breakups and a team-best six interceptions. The Warhawks also have 48 sacks that are spread among 13 players with freshman lineman Loussaint Minett has 8.5 of those sacks. Also up front is Luke Hibner who has 5.0 sacks and a team-high 10.5 tackles for loss.

Bowling Honor Roll

Amateur Cleveland USBC Bowling Association honor scores through 12/13/10


Format: Bowler, Hometown, Date, Bowling Center


    300 Games

Steve Andrers, Cleveland, 12/8, Seven Hills Lanes;

Jim Segert, Brunswick Hills, 12/9, Cloverleaf Lanes;

Kenneth Kolberg Jr., Cleveland , 12/10, Cloverleaf Lanes;

Jeffrey Horvath, Cleveland, 12/12, Brookgate Lanes;

Boban Jevtic, Parma, 12/12, Brookgate Lanes;

Kurt Latarski, Brook Park, 12/12, Roseland Lanes;

James Maskovyak, Olmsted Falls, 12/13, Buckeye Lanes;



    299 Games



    298 Games



    800 Series

William Tabb Jr., 12/9, Cloverleaf Lanes (800);

Boban Jevtic, Parma, 12/12, Brookgate Lanes (822);

St. Ed alum Darlington Nagbe named All American

SANTA BARBARA, Calf. - University of Akron juniors Darlington Nagbe and Kofi Sarkodie have each been named to the All-America First Team, the NSCAA announced this week. 

It is the second consecutive year Nagbe, who is one of three finalists for the Hermann Trophy, has achieved All-America status after being named to the second team last season. He becomes just the 11th player in school history to receive All-American recognition in multiple years. It is the first honor for Sarkodie, who is a two-time, Academic First Team All-American and the 2010 Academic All-America of the Year. 

Moreover, it is the third straight year the Zips have landed at least two players on the All-America list, following Teal Bunbury, Anthony Ampaipitakwong and Nagbe in 2009; and Ampaipitakwong and Steve Zakuani in 2008. In all, UA has recorded eight NSCAA All-Americans under fifth-year head coach Caleb Porter, the 2009 NSCAA National Coach of the Year. 

Nagbe and Sarkodie helped lead Akron (22-1-2) to the national championship game for the second consecutive season and with their 1-0 win over Louisville on Sunday, the Zips claimed their first national title in school history.