A Page -- July 24, 2012

Kristen Gromes

Mount Union Volleyball Receives AVCA Team Academic Award

LEXINGTON, Ky.—Mount Union's volleyball team has been selected as a recipient of the 2011-12 American Volleyball Coaches Association Team Academic Award.

Head coach Leigh Ann Swartz has raised the standard for excellence both on the court and in the classroom since taking over the Purple Raider program in 2006. Her teams have received the AVCA's Academic Team Academic Award in five of her six seasons, including the past four.

Graduate Julie Radigan (Olmsted Falls/Olmsted Falls) and senior Kristen Gromes (Fairless/Navarre) were named Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference and all-district last season. Radigan became the program's first Academic All-American as a Second Team selection.

Swartz's players have earned 13 all-conference and four all-district honors for their academic achievements during her six years at Mount Union, surpassing the totals the program had produced during its first 22 years.

This year, Mount Union is one of only 90 Division III women's volleyball teams—and 535 across all divisions—to receive this award.

The Team Academic Award honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams who have displayed excellent performance in the classroom during the school year. Teams must maintain a cumulative team grade-point-average of 3.30 or higher to receive the award.

Oberlin Swim Teams Earn Scholar All-

America Honors; McLauchlan and Haddad Receive Individual Praise 

Oberlin, Ohio – The string of yearly academic honors for the Oberlin College swimming and diving teams continued earlier this week as both the men’s and women’s squads were named as Scholar All-America Teams, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCCA) announced on Tuesday.

The men’s team, which finished 30th in the nation at the NCAA Division Championships this past winter, posted the sixth highest team GPA in all of Division III with a mark of 3.46. The Yeomen were led at nationals by freshman Chris McLauchlan, who earned NCAA All-America honors in both the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events. Not only a master off of the diving board, McLauchlan excelled in the class room posting over 3.5 GPA to earn CSCCA Scholar All-America honors as well.

A 2012 graduate and CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-American, Jebran Haddad was also tabbed as an Honorable-Mention CSCAA Scholar All-American for having over a 3.5 GPA while posting an NCAA qualifying time during the season.

The Yeowomen were equally impressive in the classroom as they recorded a 3.45 team GPA during the 2011-12 school year.

Ohio Picked to Win MAC East Division and Toledo Picked to Win MAC West
Ohio Bobcats Selected to Win 2012 Marathon MAC Football Championship Game

Detroit, Mich. – The Ohio Bobcats and the Toledo Rockets have been selected to win the East and West Divisions respectfully in the 2012 Mid-American Conference Football Preseason Poll. The poll was announced at the league’s annual Football Media Day at Ford Field in Detroit and was determined by members of the league’s media contingent. The Bobcats also were selected to win the 2012 Marathon MAC Football Championship.

In the East Division, Ohio was selected with 119 total points followed by second-place Bowling Green with 91 points. In the West Division it was a narrow margin as only eight points separated the top three spots with Toledo gathering 87 points, followed by second-place Northern Illinois with 83 points and third-place Western Michigan with 79 points.

This obviously reflects on the competitive nature of the MAC. In the last four years the conference has witnessed six different programs compete in the Marathon MAC Football Championship Game and ten of the 13 football programs have appeared in a bowl game in that span.

Ohio garnered all 17 first-place votes en route to a clear favorite of the poll in the East Division. The Bobcats return 49 letter winners and 15 starters from last year’s 10-4 team that won the MAC East Division Title and went on to defeat Utah State, 24-23, in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl. Ohio won its first bowl game in program history and will return starting quarterback Tyler Tettleton, who threw for 3,286 yards and 28 touchdowns.

The Bobcats were followed by Bowling Green (91) and Miami (84), who were separated by only seven points for second and third respectively in the preseason ranking. Kent State was picked fourth, followed by Buffalo, Akron and UMass.

Toledo racked up seven first place votes in the West Division to propel the Rockets to first place with 87 points. Toledo welcomes back 48 letter winners and 12 starters from last year’s team that went 9-4 overall, 7-1 in conference play, and defeated Air Force, 42-41, in the Military Bowl. First-year Head Coach Matt Campbell spent the last three seasons as the Rockets Offensive Coordinator and he’ll return quarterback-tandem Austin Dantin and Terrance Owens to lead his Rockets potent offensive attack.

Northern Illinois was picked second in the West Division and earned five first place votes and totaled 83 points. Western Michigan was selected third and also garnered four first place votes and 79 points.
Ball State was picked fourth, followed by Eastern Michigan and Central Michigan.

The 2012 season kicks off on Thursday, August 30 with five games, including four non-conference games and one conference game between Ball State and Eastern Michigan.

The 2012 Marathon MAC Football Championship Game is Friday, November 30 at 7:00 pm from Ford Field in Detroit.

The complete poll follows:

Team (First Place Votes) Points
MAC East Division
1. Ohio (17) 119
2. Bowling Green 91
3. Miami 84
4. Kent State 76
5. Buffalo 52
6. Akron 31
7. UMass 23

MAC West Division
1. Toledo (7) 87
2. Northern Illinois (5) 83
3. Western Michigan (4)79
4. Ball State 42
5. Eastern Michigan 34
6. Central Michigan (1) 32

2012 Marathon MAC Championship Game Winner: Ohio 5; Toledo 3; Northern Illinois 1; Western Michigan 1 and Central
Michigan 1.  Note:  Several voters did not select a winner for the MAC Championship.