A Page -- June 19, 2010

Southwestern Conference becoming 

popular source for nationally 

successful Mount Union Women's 

basketball program

Avon Lake High School Senior Bridget Lyons latest 

to sign on with the Raiders

By Lenny Reich

(ALLIANCE)—Avon Lake High School senior Bridget Lyons has committed to attend Mount Union and compete on the women’s basketball team.

Lyons, a 5-10 forward, was all SWC , all-district, all-county and team MVP selection for coach Frank Coughlin at Avon Lake High School.

That brings to five the number of former SWC basketball Student/Athletes now in the Mount gals' fold. Rocky River's Marybeth Leitch (the old SWC) just announced last week she was transferring from Tampa University and is agreeing to play hoops for the Raiders.


Former Bulldog Kayla Rossman

In addition, she joins among current defending Sweet 16 Raider team members carrying over to next season North Olmsted's Kori Wiedt, Olmsted Falls' Kayla Rossman, and Westlake's Rosa LaMattina, last year's top rookie award winner in the OAC. 


Former Eagle Kori Wiedt 


Mount Union, an NCAA Division III institution, is coming off one of its most successful seasons in school history as the Purple Raiders went 25-5, won the Ohio Athletic Conference Tournament, advanced to the Sweet 16 round of the NCAA Tournament and finished ranked No. 13 in the nation.


Former Demon Rosa LaMattina

Head coach Suzy Venet enters her sixth season on the bench in 2010-11 and was the WBCA Regional Coach of the Year this past season.

Lyons plans to study Early Childhood Education and is the daughter of Jane and Dave Lyons of Avon Lake.


OHSAA to Induct 14 New Members into Officials Hall of Fame; Mogadore's Ron Reed, Cuyahoga Falls' Keith Walker only NE Ohioans among group

Twenty-second class being honored today

June 19, 2010

By Tim  Stried


COLUMBUS – The Ohio High School Athletic Association will welcome 14 officials to the OHSAA’s Officials Hall of Fame during its Hall of Fame Enshrinement and Banquet Today at Huntington Park in Columbus. It is the 22nd class to be recognized for its outstanding accomplishments and service as officials in a variety of interscholastic sports across the state of Ohio.


OHSAA Assistant Commissioner Henry Zaborniak, who oversees the nearly 16,500 officials across the state, said the hall of fame is the reflection of the greatness of our officials who service the OHSAA, their community and the student-athletes.


“Officials help teach appropriate values to our participants,” Zaborniak said. “The OHSAA believes that recognition of officials’ accomplishments helps create enthusiasm in the officiating community and the hall of fame is the highest level of recognition.”


A total of 285 local officials organizations are responsible for the nomination of officials to their district officiating boards, which is based on officiating and overall contribution to high school athletics. Recommendations from the district boards are then sent to the hall of fame committee, which ultimately chooses the 2010 class of 14 inductees.


The dinner and ceremony will also honor those who have contributed 50 or more years of officiating for the OHSAA, 25-plus years of service and those chosen by the National Federation of State High School Association (NFHS) to be recognized as the Ohio Official of the Year in each sport.


Name, City, Sports Officiated

Linda Cairney, Columbus - Softball, Volleyball

Andrew Cross, Wheeling - Basketball, Baseball, Volleyball

Richard Jago, McConnelsville - Basketball

Clair Muscaro, Gahanna - Basketball

Richard Nowak, Holland - Basketball, Football, Volleyball, Lacrosse

Samuel Radel, Gibsonburg - Basketball

Ronald Reed, Mogadore - Baseball, Volleyball, Basketball, Football

Buehl Roach, Hamilton - Football, Basketball, Track and Field

Michael Sharkey, Cincinnati - Baseball, Basketball, Soccer, Volleyball, Football, Softball

Gary Switzer, Loveland - Basketball, Football

John Tipton, Oak Hill - Basketball

Bruce Varner, Heath - Softball, Football, Basketball

Keith Walker, Cuyahoga Falls - Basketball

Charles West, Cridersville - Football, Baseball, Softball, Basketball


Ron Reed, (Mogadore) - Ronald Reed of Mogadore has been an OHSAA umpire since 1967 and is a member of the Summit Umpires Association, where he has held the position of rules interpreter and training class instructor since 1970. Reed has also served as board member, vice-president and president of the SUA. He devoted 28 years as a football official and 20 years as a basketball official. Reed has umpired more than 1,100 OHSAA games including assignments in over 75 districts, 37 regionals and 23 state tournament baseball games. He was selected as the 2002 NFHS Ohio baseball umpire of the year and was inducted into the Summit Umpires Association Hall of Fame that same year.

Ron Reed

Keith Walker, (Cuyahoga Falls) - In 36 years of basketball officiating, Keith Walker has officiated well over 1600 basketball games including sectional and district games for 31 of those years. Keith refereed five girls and nine boys state basketball tournaments. For the past 23 years, Walker has served as the Greater Akron Basketball Association rules interpreter and he also served a term as its president. Walker assisted the OHSAA as it developed its basketball training curriculum from 1993-1999 and currently serves as the Commissioner of the Suburban League.





June 19, 2010

By Harry Plumer

TRAVERSE CITY, Mich. - Josh Roberts pitched the Lake Erie Crushers past the Traverse City Beach Bums 3-0 in the series finale tonight.

Traverse City starter Ryan Platt retired 12 straight Lake Erie batters following a first inning two-out single off the bat of Kent State's Andrew Davis. Wayne Bond Josh Roberts was just as strong for the Crushers, sitting down eight in a row following a second inning single for Bobby Spain.

The Crushers scored the game's first run in the top of the sixth. Jodam Rivera doubled into the right-center gap on the first offering from Platt with one away. He scored moments later as Andrew Davis blooped an opposite field double to left. Arden McWilliams pushed the lead to 2-0 with his fifth homer of the season, a solo blast over the fence in right in the seventh. 

Shaker Heights native Arden McWilliams helped add to the lead in the top of the ninth. Traverse City used three pitchers in the frame and McWilliams recorded a double to right on a 1-2 offering from reliever David Slovak, scoring Eddie Tisdale, who walked earlier in the frame. Josh Roberts threw seven shutout innings, walking five and striking out four to improve to 3-0. He allowed just four hits in the contest and outdueled Ryan Platt, who posted nine strikeouts in seven innings but suffered his first loss. Jeff Cinadr tossed the final two to tally his first save. Arden McWilliams finished 3-for-4 at the plate. Andrew Davis posted two this in the contest as well. 

The Crushers (14-13) pulled even with the Beach Bums in the standings by winning two of three on the road. Lake Erie welcomes Windy City to All Pro Freight Stadium tomorrow night for a 5:05pm contest. RHP Phil Rummel (1-2, 6.75) will make his sixth start for the Crushers while Windy City counters with LHP Brent Solich (2-2, 3.41).


Ø  Eddie Tisdale faced 11 pitches in the fifth before flying out and then watched nine pitches in his at bat in the sixth

Ø  Lake Erie has won three consecutive series and is 7-2 over the last nine games; The Crushers returned the favor to Traverse City after the Beach Bums won two of three at All Pro Freight Stadium to begin the season

Ø  The Crushers have played a rubber game in seven of the nine series this year and are 3-4 in rubber games