A Page -- May 25, 2011

US wins state tennis poll championship; 

Six Student/Athletes from 4500-4700 

section of Wyoga Lake Road competing 

in this week’s state tourney

In the final Ohio Tennis Coaches’ Association Poll, University School has been declared the state poll champion for Division II.

The Preppers were ranked No. 1 in the state for all of the four previous polls and have maintained the top spot through to the fifth and final weekly tabulation, which has been released this week.
District Doubles Champions Garrett Cona (L) and Matt Spittler from Walsh

No local teams in Division I cracked the top five with Walsh Jesuit, which has two doubles teams playing in the state tourney this week, pulling in at a No. 6 in the big-school division.

Also from Walsh, District Doubles Runners Up Aaron Sandberg (L), Matt Miles (R)

Three Cleveland teams made the top 10 and the top 15 in Division I. Hoover finished seventh and Solon 10th.

The only other Cleveland team to get ranked was Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy. The Royals also have a doubles team playing in the state tourney this week.
D-II District champs Alex Aleman (L) and Lou Konstan from CVCA

Ironically, CVCA and Walsh are on the same street only a few yards from each other so six doubles players from the same corner of Wyoga Lake Road are going for high state laurels as Student/Athletes over the next few days.


Division I

1. Upper Arlington (3)    137
2. Cinti St. Xavier  (10)  134
3. New Albany (1) 124
4. Toledo St. John Jesuit (2)  122
5. Cinti Ssycamore  92
6. Cuyahoga Falls Walsh Jesuit 59
7. North Canton Hoover  43
8. Cinti Mason  37
9. Lexington  28
10. Solon  18

11. Dublin Jerome 14
12. Dayton Springboro 12
13.  Thomas Worthingtom 11
14. Centerville  9
15. Lakota East 8

Division II

1. Hunting Valley University School (11)  110
2. Columbus Bexley (1)   98
3. Cuyahoga Falls Cuyahoga Valley Christian  94
4. Cinti Seven Hills  77
5. Columbus Bishop Watterson  63
6. Gahanna Columbus Academy 54
7. Dayton Chaminade Julienne 44
8. Cinti Wyoming  29
9. Lima Shawnee  16
10. Wooster Tri-way   10

11. Cinti Country Day  9
12. Columbus Wellington  8
13. Cinti Hills Christian 6
14. Dayton Oakwood  5
15. Cinti Indian Hill  4

Walsh Jesuit wins second straight outright 

CRBC championship; last three titles 

have gone to Jesuit schools only; Warriors 

claim two of top three indvidual awards 

for Student/Athletes; Jesuit schools have 

won or shared 12 of 14 CRBC titles 

Cuyahoga River Baseball Conference Past Champions 
1998 St. Ignatius, 1999 Walsh Jesuit, 2000 St. Ignatius, 2001 St. Ignatius, 2002 St. Ignatius, 2003 Hoban, 2004 St. Ignatius 2005 St. Ignatius, 2006 Walsh Jesuit, 2007 Walsh Jesuit, 2008 St. Edward, 2009 St. Ignatius/Walsh Jesuit, 2010 Walsh Jesuit, 2011 Walsh Jesuit 


Cuyahoga River Baseball Conference 
2011 Post Season All-CRBC Awards 
Benedictine / Gilmour / St. Edward / St. Ignatius / St. V.  St. M. /  Walsh Jesuit 
2011 CRBC Champion: Walsh Jesuit 
2011 CRBC Special Awards: 
Player of the Year:      Cassidy Brown (So.)  Walsh Jesuit 
Pitcher of the Year:      Michael Marsinek (Jr.) Walsh Jesuit 
            Vince Bartolone (Sr.)  St. Edward 

Rookie of the Year:      Joey Stoll (Jr.)    St. Edward 

Offensive Player of the Year:   Neal Jacobs (Sr.)   St. Ignatius 
Defensive Player of the Year:   Sonny Howard (Sr.)  STVM 
Freshman of the Year:      Nate Romans (Fr.)  Walsh Jesuit 
Most Improved Player:     Brad Gazdag (Jr.)  Gilmour 
            PJ Spicuzza (Sr.)   Benedictine 
Coach of the Year:      Chris Kaczmar    Walsh Jesuit