B Page -- May 8, 2010

OAC Championship tennis/B-W 

Continued from A Page

ONU gained an early 2-1 advantage after doubles play as its number one and No.2 tandems were both victorious by identical 8-3 scores. The Yellow Jackets gained their point as the No.3 duo of freshman No.4 singles player Joe Horvath (North Royalton) and fellow freshman Ty Beaton (Bemus Point, N.Y./ Maplegrove) won by an 8-3 score.  Horvath and Beaton end the season at 19-2 overall and won nine straight doubles matches dating back to April 10.
St. Ed alum Matt Lachman

Despite their loss at No.1 doubles, senior No.3 singles player Andy Redd (Archbold) and junior No.2 player Matt Lachman (Cleveland Heights/ Lakewood St. Edward) were 14-8 overall and the No.2 doubles tandem of No.1 singles player Alex Trzeciak (Avon Lake) and sophomore Taylor Long (Ashland/ Senior) finish at 17-3 overall.

In the only All-Cleveland match-up in the event, Royalton's Horvath defeated ONU's Andrew Korba, who lives in Streetsboro but graduated from Solon High. Korba got it back by winning in doubles with his partner

Andrew Korba

In singles play, the Polar Bears won three of the five matches that were completed to secure the win. The Yellow Jacket singles winners were Horvath at No.4 and junior Sam Burris (Wooster/ Senior) at No.5. With their singles wins, Horvath is 24-1 overall, Burris is 18-5. In addition, No.6 player Bobby Irwin (Wooster/ Senior) finished the season at 16-4 overall. Despite their losses, Trzeciak finished 17-8 overall, Lachman was 14-8 overall and Redd was 14-10 overall.  Horvath's 24 wins ties him with former B-W Academic All-American and 2000 OAC Player of the Year Bryan Bartunek for fifth on the single-season victory list.

Tennis Match Results
2010 Ohio Athletic Conference Championship Match
The Lindner Family Tennis Center; Mason, Ohio
Ohio Northern -- 5, Baldwin-Wallace -- 3

SINGLES:  No.1: Joey Frank (ONU) defeated Alex Trzeciak (B-W), 6-4, 7-6 (7-4); No.2:  Nick Kowalczyk (ONU) def. Matt Lachman (B-W), 6-1, 6-3;  No.3:  Jeff Carter (ONU) def. Andy Redd (B-W), 3-6, 6-0, 6-2;  No.4:  Joe Horvath (B-W) def. Andrew Korba (ONU), 6-0, 6-2;  No.5:  Sam Burris (B-W), def. Kyle Barnaba (ONU), 6-3, 6-4;  No.6:  Mike King (ONU) def. Bobby Irwin (B-W), 4-6, 6-3, DNF;  DOUBLES:  No.1:  Joey Franks/ Nick Kowalczyk (ONU) def. Matt Lachman/Andy Redd (B-W), 8-3;  No.2:  Jeff Carter/ Andrew Korba (ONU) def. Alex Trzeciak/Taylor Long (B-W), 8-3;  NO.3:  Joe Horvath/Tyler Beaton (B-W) def. Mike King/ Matt Dutro (ONU), 8-3.

Berg OAC Champs  

Continued from A Page
Its regular season championship gives the Berg the right to host the 2010 OAC Tournament May 13-15 at Peaceful Valley. It is the fourth straight year that the conference tournament will pass through Tiffin, Ohio. The winner of the four-team double elimination tournament earns an automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals.  
Heidelberg scored the first six runs of the game after two innings of action. Leading the way was a four-run, four-hit second inning. With the bases loaded, Lizcano and Decker had back-to-back RBI at bats to push Heidelberg's early lead to 4-0. Two batters later, and two outs, Brechun and Jason Lash (Strongsville, Ohio / Strongsville) knocked in a run apiece in consecutive at bats to extend Heidelberg's advantage to six.
Mount Union erased a shutout in the third inning with a two-run home run, but the Berg got one of those runs back in the fourth with an RBI double from Andrew Buelow(Marysville, Mich. / Marysville). However, the Purple Raiders answered in the bottom of the fourth with another run of its own.
In the sixth, with two outs, Alex Monroe (Chagrin Falls, Ohio / Kenston) connected for a solo home run to left field to give Heidelberg eight runs. Decker rounded out the scoring for the Berg in the seventh with a sacriface fly to right field.
Mount Union closed out its scoring in its last at bat with a sacriface fly to center field.
Sophomore left-handed starter Elvin Williams (Eulcid, Ohio / Euclid) and Lowe combined for the victory on the mound. Williams threw a two-hitter over 4.0 innings and gave up three earned runs, while striking out three. For the year he improves to 2-0. Lowe threw the final three innings and allowed three hits and one earned run, while striking out one. He preserved his ninth win on the year, which ties his own single-season record that he has set every year at the Berg. Also sitting atop the saves single season record book isBen Thorpe with nine in 2003.