B Page -- Sept. 27, 2010

Mount Union Golf

Continued from A Page

Muller shot the best round by a Raider golfer on Monday, carding a 73 one day after shooting a 76. Spacek had a 75 and then a 74. Also playing as an individual, Steve Guerrieri carded a 150 (73-77) and tied for ninth.

Otterbein teammates Cody MacLean and Brock Neighbors tied atop the leaderboard with 141s after the second round. MacLean had tied for Sunday's low -- a 70 -- while Neighbors's 69 was the best on Monday. MacLean won medalist honors in a one-hole sudden death playoff.

The Purple Raiders will return to action on Oct. 3-4 when they take part in the Muskingum Invitational at Eaglesticks Golf Course in Zanesville.


Mount Union Invitational - Final
Round One - Tannenhauf Golf Course
Round Two - Alliance Country Club

Team Scores

1. Otterbein 294-294=588, 2. Mount Union 288-307=595, 3. John Carroll 301-300=601, 4. Walsh 312-312=624, 5. Heidelberg 313-323=636, 6. Notre Dame, Ohio 329-328=657

Top 5 Individuals
T1. Cody MacLean (Otterbein) 70-71=141, T1. Brock Neighbors (Otterbein) 72-69=141, T3. Alex Welch (Mount Union) 70-76=146, T3. Ted Padezanin (John Carroll) 72-74=146, 5. Jeff Deal (John Carroll) 73-74=147

MacLean won medalist honors in playoff.

Mount Union
T3. Alex Welch 70-76=146, T6. Jon Lieser 74-75=149, T6. *Cory Muller 76-73=149, T6. *Jesse Spacek 75-74=149, T9. *Steve Guerrieri 73-77=150, T11. Ben Lehrke 70-81=151, T13. Tyler Hickerson 74-78=152, T19.Dillon Bright 76-78=154, T22. *Zach Seidner 76-79=155, T25. *Justin Grunstein 80-76=156, T25. *Vincent Lorenzo 76-80=156, 29. *Bryan Bober 81-76=157, 30. *Brandon Giaimo 76-82=158, 31. *Ryan Conway 79-80=159, T32. *Andrew Bunnell 78-82=160, T32. *Scott Hamlin 82-78=160, 44. Ryan Ringwalt 82-85=167

* - competed as individual


Cleveland to Host 2012 National

 Collegiate Women’s Bowling 

Championship: MAC, East Side 

Sports Commission to Co-host 




Cleveland, OH (September 27, 2010) – The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has announced that the Mid-American Conference and the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission have been selected as the hosts for the 2012 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship. The nation’s top eight teams, with ten student-athletes per team, will compete for a championship April 12-14, 2012 at Freeway Lanes in Wickliffe , Ohio .


“This is a tremendous opportunity for the city of Cleveland and the Mid-American Conference to host the 2012 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship,” said Dr. Jon Steinbrecher, Commissioner of the Mid-American Conference.  “We have partnered with the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission on a number of events and this will be another opportunity for the MAC to work with the Sports Commission to bring NCAA collegiate championship events to the Greater Cleveland area.”


The 2012 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship is part of the NCAA Championship City program. In 2008, the NCAA selected Cleveland as one of six cities throughout the United States to serve as inaugural members in its “ NCAA Championship City ” pilot program. The program features multiple host opportunities ofNCAA Division I, II and III men’s and women’s championships through 2012 for each of the six cities. These championships celebrate Cleveland and provide an enhanced experience unlike any other for NCAA student-athletes and fans. For more information, visit www.clevelandsports.org.



Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 11 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in six (6) states – Illinois , Indiana , Michigan , New York , andOhio . In addition a 13th school – Temple University in Philadelphia , Pa. -- is an affiliate member for football only.

Current MAC schools that hold full membership and the year they joined are -- East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947).  Temple University (2007) competes in the East Division in football only. The conference office is based in Cleveland , Ohio . For more information, visit www.mac-sports.com.

Case Reserve Tennis

Continued from A Page

Junior Sean Carr (Columbus, OH/Upper Arlington) and sophomore Kyle Gerber (Columbus, OH/St. Charles Prep) also charged through to the quarters with three straight wins in the main draw, but lost their bid to move on to the semis against the bracket's eventual champions, Brian Piotrowski and Brian Sorich, from Illinois Wesleyan University.

In the Collegiate Championship draw, freshmen Eric Klawitter (Fishers, IN/Hamilton Southeastern) and Trent Searfoss (Hilliard, OH/Hilliard Davidson) were the third Spartans to qualify for the quarterfinals, going 3-1 overall until falling to the eventual champions from DePauw.

Over three days of competition, the Spartans competed with the likes of Greenville College (IL), Calvin College (MI), DePauw, Washington University (MO), the University of ChicagoDenison University, Kalamazoo, Transylvania University (KY), Elmhurst College (IL), Principia College (IL), Wittenberg University, Illinois Wesleyan, Kenyon CollegeNorth Central State CollegeHanover CollegeAlbion College (MI), Augustana College (IL), Westminster College (PA), Earlham College (IN), Hope College (MI) and Ohio Northern University.

Four Spartans also recorded 2-1 singles records during the tournament. The team returns to action at the University of Toledo Invitational on Friday-Sunday, October 1-3, at the UT Varsity Courts.

High School Tennis Box

Avon d. LRA 5-0
Singles: Schwartz d. Rice 6-0, 6-0;  Cirilo d. Al-Haddad 6-0, 6-4; Forfeit. 
Doubles: Lacy/Monroe d. Miraldi/Kapodia 6-1, 7-5 (7-5); Yalamanchili/Baskat d. Hresko/Beals 3-6, 6-3, 6-0.